What is a substitute for sun dried tomatoes?

A substitute for the flavor would be an equal amount of tomato paste cooked in a sauce pan over low heat until caramelized and sweet. A substitute for the texture would be an equal amount of dried apricots warmed in a sauce pan with tomato paste or harissa until caramelized.