Who owns downton abbey?

The interior scenes of Downton Abbey are filmed at Highclere Castle, located in Hampshire, England. Highclere Castle is owned by the 8th Earl of Carnarvon. The 5th Earl was an amateur Egyptologist and accompanied Howard Carter when Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun.