What is the legend of zelda about?

The Legend of Zelda is a fantasy action-adventure video game franchise. The series centers on Link, the elf-like player character and chief protagonist. Link is often given the task of rescuing Princess Zelda and the kingdom of Hyrule from Ganon, an evil warlord turned demon.