What animals have shells?

A shell is a hard, rigid outer layer, which has evolved in a very wide variety of different animals, including mollusks, sea urchins, crustaceans, turtles and tortoises, armadillos, etc. Scientific names for this type of structure include exoskeleton, test, carapace, and peltidium.