What's the difference between a sandal and a flip flop?

While a sandal may have a single large strap across your instep akin to a flip flop, if it has ankle support, it's a sandal and not a flip flop.

---

A sandal is a light shoe with either an openwork upper or straps attaching the sole to the foot. A flip-flop is a light sandal, typically of plastic or rubber, with a thong between the big and second toe.