Why do dogs roll on the grass?

Rolling in the grass is a normal behavior for a dog. It can be done for various reasons including relieving an itch or removing a smell from its fur.

---

Your dog may roll in the grass to get rid of debris on his back or to mask his smell. It may also brush away loose fur clumps.