When was oat milk invented?

Oat milk was birthed in the 1980s as a result of Rickard Öste's study on lactose intolerance and sustainable food systems at Lund University in Sweden. The process of creating oat milk involved the use of enzymes to liquify raw oat kernels into a milk-like substance.