Is there iron in food?

There are 2 forms of dietary iron: heme and nonheme. Heme iron is derived from hemoglobin found in animals such as red meats, fish, and poultry (meat, poultry, and seafood contain both heme and non-heme iron). Your body absorbs the most iron from heme sources. Most nonheme iron is from plant sources