What are examples of adaptogens?

Adaptogen is a classification of herbs based their actions originally founded in Chinese Medicine. There are only nine herbs that fit into the classification of adaptogen: Panax ginseng, American Ginseng, Ashwagandha, Eleuthero, Schisandra, Rhodiola, Shilajit, Rhaponticum and Cordyceps.