What's in a chili recipe?

Most chili recipes contain: kidney beans, ground beef, chopped onion, tomato paste, and crushed tomatoes. Chili is usually seasoned with chili powder, cumin, oregano, black pepper, salt, and cayenne pepper. Recipes will vary in proportions and may contain additional ingredients like paprika.