Why was whoopi goldberg blacklisted?

Whoopi Goldberg was never black listed. "Black listing" is something that was done to actors during Senator Joe McCarthy's term in office, from 1953-1955. Goldberg was born months after McCarthy left office, and the "black list" effectively ended while Whoopi was still a toddler.