What's the difference between baking powder and baking soda?

While both products appear similar, they're not the same. Baking soda is sodium bicarbonate, which requires an acid and a liquid to become activated & help baked goods rise. Conversely, baking powder includes sodium bicarbonate, as well as an acid. It only needs a liquid to become activated