How many people are incarcerated in united states?

Almost 2.3 million people are incarcerated in the US. That includes state, federal and military prisons, juvenile correctional facilities, local jails, Indian Country jails, immigration detention facilities, civil commitment centers, state psychiatric hospitals, and prisons in the U.S. territories.