Why do we need pets?

Pets are a want not a need. However pets contribute positively to our lives in terms of mood, health and longevity. Pets provide a sense of purpose an object of focus and affection and a reason to get out of bed in the morning. Just petting a cat or dog lowers blood pressure and improves mood.