What's the difference between cornmeal and corn grits?

Corn meal is generally ground to a flour consistency, where corn grits are closer to cracked corn than ground flour. Corn meal is used as an ingredient in other dishes, like cornbread or polenta. Corn grits are prepared as their own porridge-like dish.