Is there such thing as a cuckoo bird?

Yes, there are real cuckoo birds. The common cuckoo is a member of the Cuculiformes order of birds, and includes the roadrunner. The cuckoo bird is known to leave its eggs in other birds nest, leaving their young to be tended to by another type of bird.