Who is mr. milton?

Milton is a high-ranked detective in the Pinkerton National Detective Agency. After Dutch robs his train, Leviticus Cornwall hires Milton and his subordinate, Agent Edgar Ross, to track down the Van der Linde gang and bring Dutch van der Linde to justice.