What is a.m. and p.m. stand?

From the Latin words meridies (meaning mid day), ante (meaning before) and post (meaning after), the term ante meridiem (a.m.) means before mid day and post meridiem (p.m.) means after mid day.

---

"AM” stands for “ante meridiem.” The Latin phrase “ante meridiem” means “before noon” or “before midday.” PM stands for “post meridiem,” meaning “after noon” or “after midday,” and as such applies to the times from noon onward.

---

Ante Meridian is, A M , meaning Morning , and Post Meridian is P M , meaning after noon.

---

From the Latin words meridies, which means midday, ante, which means before, and post, which means after, the term ante meridiem is a.m. and means before midday and post meridiem is p.m. and means after midday.