Why is it called scandinavia?

The name Scandinavia comes from that of a region in southern Sweden called Skåne or Scania. The terms Norden and Nordic, both meaning “North,” have also been used to refer collectively to the five Scandinavian countries (Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, and the Faroe Islands).