Where did sushi come from?

Sushi traces its origins back to a Chinese dish called narezushi whose earliest known origin was in the 2nd century BC. It was subsequently adopted and updated by the Japanese, and it was introduced to the West by the early 1900s, following Japanese immigration after the Meiji Restoration.