Is outer space dangerous?

The environment of space is lethal without appropriate protection: the greatest threat in the vacuum of space derives from the lack of oxygen and pressure, although temperature and radiation also pose risks. The effects of can result in ebullism, hypoxia, hypocapnia, and decompression sickness.