What was the first robot built?

The first commercial, digital and programmable robot was built by George Devol in 1954 and was named the Unimate. It was sold to GM in 1961 where it was used to lift pieces of hot metal from die casting machines at the Inland Fisher Guide Plant in the West Trenton section of Ewing Township, NJ.