What happened to eminem's dad?

Eminem’s dad was very abusive to his wife. Then he walked out leaving his wife and son by themselves and Eminem was very young so he never knew his father. Also, in the song Stan Eminem says “I never knew my father neither, he used to always cheat on my mom and beat her.”