What's the difference between a bucket and a pale?

When there is a difference, bucket is the hypernym of pail, in that pail is a more specific sort of thing and bucket is more generic. Pail takes on many attributes of can or cannister, including the property of holding liquids. However, the thing you pour water into to bring back with you is a pail.