What is tax exempt interest?

Tax-exempt interest is interest you make on an investment classified as tax-free. Some examples are Municipal Bonds, Savings Bonds and Treasury Bills. However not all taxes are necessarily except. If you buy a Texas municipal bond, you may avoid state taxes but must pay federal taxes.