Why is there a shortage of classen pickles?

There is currently a shortage of pickles which includes Claussen. In the U.S. there is a strain of mildew that is particularly harmful to cucumbers. The mildew has been destroying crops since the mid 2000's. Researchers are trying to develop a mildew resistant cucumber.