Why do fingernails grow faster than toenails?

Fingernails grow two to three times faster than toenails. A fingernail replaces itself in about six months while a toenail takes a year. Feet are farthest afield in the circulatory scheme of things. A better blood supply to the fingers keeps them chugging along at a faster clip.