Why does durian stink?

Yes. Durian has a strong, foul odor. It is usually stored in freezers to reduce the smell. Many hotels and businesses throughout Asia have signs specifically banning people from bringing durian on premises. Despite it’s unpleasant aroma, the flavor of fresh durian is quite sweet and pleasant.