Can guinea pigs eat cereal?

Guinea pigs should not be fed breakfast cereal, as it contains high amounts of sugar and may lead to disease. A healthy diet for a guinea pig should consist mainly of grass hay, vegetables, and pellet-style foods specifically formulated for guinea pigs, with occasional fruit as a treat.