What is a t. e. procedure?

A transesophageal echocardiogram (TEE) uses echocardiography to assess the structure and function of the heart. During the procedure, a transducer (like a microphone) sends out ultrasonic sound waves. ... A traditional echocardiogram is done by putting the transducer on the surface of the chest.