When were beds invented?

While beds and mattresses in ancient times were barely more than a pile of flora meant to cushion against a hard surface, it was the first attempt at providing comfort while sleeping. The earliest known “bed” was constructed sometime in the Miocene period, between 23 and 5 million years ago.