How many fluid ounces should you drink a day?

It is generally accepted for average adults, in temperate climates, to drink 64 ounces of unadulterated water for overall health and hydration. Temperature extremes of hot or cold will alter the amounts required by the body. Proper hydration can help mitigate pain, aid metabolism, and improve sleep.