What's the difference between fearsome and terrifying?

It is the same difference between fear and terror. Fear is the feeling that a person experiences when a threat is sensed or perceived. Fear readies the body for action. Terror is an extreme form of fear that can occur when an unexpected and frightful stimulus is presented.