Can humans contract rabies?

Yes, humans can contract rabies. They usually get rabies from the bite of a rabid animal. It is also possible, but rare, humans to get rabies from other exposures, including scratches, abrasions, or open wounds that are exposed to saliva or other infectious material from a rabid animal.