Why is it called a hamburger?

Hamburger is a derivative of the city name, Hamberg, in Germany, where various snacks or meals of warm meat on bread we're popular.

---

Hamburgers are named after the German city of Hamburg. It means "from Hamburg" where this style of ground beef was popular.