When was the last time it snowed in sarasota?

January 19, 1977 was the only time in South Florida history that snow fell from the skies, swirling over palm trees, dazzling school children and surprising the region's normally sun-baked residents.

---

It was the only time in South Florida history that snow fell from the skies. That was on Jan. 19, 1977 - 35 years ago Thursday. Officially, the National Weather Service recorded it as only a trace of snow.