What is shadow diplomacy?

Shadow diplomacy is the making of deals with a foreign power, without the knowledge of the legitimate leader of that country. Most recently John Kerry was accused of shadow diplomacy when meeting with Iran leaders without the President's knowledge.

---

Shadow diplomacy occurs, when an individual goes behind the backs of primary players, and inserts themselves into ongoing diplomatic issues.