Can you make tomato paste into tomato sauce?

Because tomato paste is a concentrated form of tomato puree, you can dilute it to the consistency of tomato sauce. Adding one cup of water to three-quarters of a cup of tomato paste will result in a tomato base with the same texture and thickness as tomato sauce (after some brisk stirring).