What makes cookies rise?

At about 212 degrees Fahrenheit, the water in cookie dough turns into steam. The cookie starts to rise as the vapors push through the dough. Eventually, the baking soda or powder starts to break down into carbon dioxide gas, which raise up the cookie farther.