What is an h. p. pencil?

Pencils are rated on a hardness scale that runs from 10 H to 10 B. Where H stands for Hardness, and B stands for Blackness. the H.B. pencil is near the middle of the scale. The true center of the scale is F which stands for Fine. Pencil lead contains no lead but is a mixture of graphite, and clay.