What does the red white and blue stand for in the american flag?

In 1986, U.S. President Ronald Reagan said, "The colors of our flag signify the qualities of the human spirit we Americans cherish. Red for courage and readiness to sacrifice; white for pure intentions and high ideals; and blue for vigilance and justice."