Why does copper turn green?

For the same reason iron rusts and turns orange. Copper exposed to the atmosphere reacts with other chemicals and elements, and forms a layer of surface corrosion, like rust on iron. With copper this corrosion mostly consists of copper carbonate, which has a vivid green color.