Why is coleslaw called coleslaw?

Coleslaw comes from a Dutch word meaning cabbage salad.

---

The term, “cole slaw”, arose in the 18th century as a partial translation from the Dutch term “koolsla”, a shortening of “koolsalade”, which means “cabbage salad”.