What do we breathe in?

The air you breathe is made up of lots of other things besides oxygen. Oxygen only makes up about 21% of air. About 78% of the air you breathe is made up of another gas called nitrogen. There are also tiny amounts of other gases like argon, carbon dioxide and methane.