Has it ever snowed in melbourne florida?

It was the only time in South Florida history that snow fell from the skies, swirling over palm trees, dazzling school children and surprising the region's normally sun-baked residents. That was on Jan. 19, 1977. Officially, the National Weather Service recorded it as only a trace of snow.