What was marilyn monroe famous for?

Marilyn Monroe was a female actor from 1950s and early 1960s who is best known for her appearance in several comedy films during that time including The Seven Year Itch and Some Like It Hot. She also starred in several dramas including 1954's Niagara and 1961's The Misfits.