Why is applebee's called applebee's?

Founders Bill and T.J. Palmer looked for inspiration in a phone book and fell in love with the name Applebee, spelled a p p l e b y, according to an article in Business Insider. After finding there was already a copyright on the name, they changed it to "Applebee's."