What is a melda marcos famous for?

Imelda Marcos, born July 2, 1929, is a Filipino politician who was First Lady of the Philippines for 21 years. She and her family gained notoriety for living a lavish lifestyle during a period of economic crisis and civil unrest in the country, including owning thousands of pairs of shoes.