Tell me about the flood from halo?

The Flood presents the most variable faction in the trilogy, as it can infect and mutate Humans and Covenant species. According to Halo lore, it is a product of a war between the Forerunners and Precursors. Some Precursors were turned into regenerative dust that created mutations.