What is the name of the legend that jackolantern's originated from?

The story of "Stingy Jack" or "Jack of the Lantern" is an old Irish myth about a man who was too wicked to get into Heaven but who made a deal with the Devil not to take his soul, so he was doomed to wander the earth with only a carved turnip as a lantern.